est. 1967

Karapiro Rowing Board
Sonya Walker (NZSSRA)

Tony Allen (Chief Umpire)
Martin Hyde (Chief Judge)
Terry Tidbury (Chief Starter)
Janey Wackrow (NZSSRA)
Warren Thomas (Regatta Committee)

SISSC 2017

Aon NZ


2017 NISSC

  Printer Friendly Version January 2017  

2017 Aon Maadi Cup Notices - Sitemap -  


Online regatta entry is NOW OPEN. Entries will CLOSE at 8:00AM Monday 27 February 2017.

Passwords for online regatta entry are held by Member schools' Sports Coordinators (schools should contact the Manager regarding misplaced passwords.)

Most schools seem to leave making their entries until the last day or two. Anybody planning on doing this is strongly advised to carry out Roster Maintenance between now and then so the actual entry process is not unnecessarily complicated/delayed by having to update the school's roster of pupils.

Please don't hesitate to make use of your club contacts to get your entries completed but make sure you receive the declarations and get those properly checked, completed and returned to the hosts.

Entries 101

Online Regatta Entry is a 4-step process:

  1. Select a squad of athletes from the school's roster (remember to include any reserves!)
  2. Select crews using the squad members
  3. Provide the information required for the regatta declaration forms
  4. Submit the entries*

* When entries are submitted an email confirmation is generated and sent to the Sports Coordinator. The email has attached .pdfs containing an entry summary and the declaration forms. THESE MUST BE SIGNED BY THE PRINCIPAL then scanned and emailed to the regatta hosts.


Incomplete entries?

If your school is showing as having incomplete entries then there are crews that have been selected but not yet entered in the regatta. If you are part way through entries this is normal. Otherwise, to remedy this:

  1. Log in (here).
  2. Make sure each form on the "other forms" page is complete.
  3. Go to the "submit entries" page*.
  4. Tick the box to agree to the Regatta's Terms & Conditions.
  5. Click the "submit my entries" button*.

When you do this an email confirmation of your entries, together with an entry summary and the declaration forms required for the regatta, will be sent to your school's Sports Coordinator and the email address given on the first of the "other forms".

* If you have already submitted your entries but later made changes to those entries which need re-submitting then you will also show on the incomplete list and the link and submission button (see 3 & 5 above) will say "update entries". (If the link is not active you need to also check your "other forms").

Non-financial members

Any non-financial members cannot enter NZSSRA Championships and should contact the Schools Committee urgently if they are hoping to enter SISSC.


Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2016 AGM and are again unchanged from last year: 1X $14, 2X/2- $20, 4X+/4+ $25, 8X+/8+ $32, amenity $19.00 per pupil.

Entry limits

The entry limits are the same as for 2016: Doubles: 1 crew per event per school; Singles, Pairs, Fours, and Quads: 2 crews per event per school; Eights and Octuples: no limit

Schools must also be aware the compressed nature of this regatta means there should be no expectation any pupil who is entered in more than one event will have sufficient time available to compete in all of those events. There is only enough time to be able to hold semi-finals for the most heavily entered events and this brings together events that might usually be spread well apart during heats and finals.

Note: entry limits get rasied slowly during supplementary entries

The 2016 Champions

St Peters School convincingly won the Derbyshire Shield, for 2016 Champion North Island School, with 74 points. Hamilton Boys High School came second with 47 points. Glendowie College took third place on 42 points.

St Peters Schools also had the largest medal haul at the regatta (10 gold, 6 silver, 6 bronze) but 42 other schools also collected medals.

The standard of competition was very high and the 12 pennant events (those with unrestricted entry i.e. U18 non-novice, non-lightweight) were shared between 6 different schools. HAMB cleaned up the boys sweep oar pennant events and WHAK the boys sculling ones. The girls sweep oar pennant events went to DIOC (2) and HLCR (1), and HAUR (2) and STPC (1) took the sculling ones.

Hamilton Boys High School won the Boys Under-18 Eights and Diocesan School for Girls won the Girls Under-18 Eights.

News 2017-01-17

2016 Stats

1839 pupils from 94 schools entered in 4796 seats in 1366 crews. 305 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 52 events.

Tent Sites

Tent sites are ordered during the online entry process and are allocated by ballot after close of entries.


While North Island schools are competing on Lake Karapiro for recognition as the best the North Island has to offer their South Island counter-parts will be do the same thing up at the 2016 Meridian South Island Champs on Lake Ruataniwha. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

Number of events per pupil

After a review of the per pupil entries for the last few Seasons' school regattas and much discussion about the health and safety of each rower, the Schools Committee continues to make the following recommendation:

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

In reaching the recommendation advice was sought from physiologists, leading elite coaches and the NZ Secondary School Sports Council. The Schools Committee will continue to monitor the entry per pupil this season.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria pupils "new" to a school

The NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria were recently revised with effect this year. An updated article about the NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria is available to help members assess whether or not each of their pupils is considered new to their school. Schools are limited to 3 "new" pupils in an eight and 1 "new" pupil in other boats ("new" pupils are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is now also a limit of 2 pupils with an NZSSSC-issed PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).

Lightweightschanges and reminders

Following the SGM in November lightweight rowing has been restricted to older pupils. The lightweight events are now "Over-15" events. This means they are no longer open to pupils who are Under-16 (Over-15 = 16 = Under-17).

We also take this opportunity to remind Members who enter lightweight rowers in both lightweight events that NZSSRA Rules require crews to weigh in before EACH event (Rule 12). Pupils cannot weigh-in once for both events. This is different from coxswains but coxswains can be check-weighed at any time whereas lightweights cannot.

As we have been repeatedly assured all lightweights at our regattas are genuine lightweights and naturally below the weight limits the Rule requirements should present no challenges with respect to making weight. An athlete who has to avoid re-hydrating and eating between events in order to make weight for both events should not be racing lightweight.


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council and by the New Zealand Rowing Association.


Aon NZ