est. 1967


NISSC 2017

Aon NZ


2017 Meridian SISSC

  Printer Friendly Version January 2017  

2017 Aon Maadi Cup Notices - Sitemap -  


Online regatta entry is NOW OPEN. Entries will CLOSE at 10:00PM Monday 27 February 2017.

Passwords for online regatta entry are held by Member schools' Sports Coordinators (schools should contact the Manager regarding misplaced passwords.)

Most schools seem to leave making their entries until the last day or two. Anybody planning on doing this is strongly advised to carry out Roster Maintenance between now and then so the actual entry process is not unnecessarily complicated/delayed by having to update the school's roster of pupils.

Please don't hesitate to make use of your club contacts to get your entries completed but make sure you receive the declarations and get those properly checked, completed and returned to the hosts.

Entries 101

Online Regatta Entry is a 4-step process:

  1. Select a squad of athletes from the school's roster (remember to include reserves!)
  2. Select crews using the squad members
  3. Provide the information required for the regatta declaration forms
  4. Submit the entries*

* When entries are submitted an email confirmation is generated and sent to the Sports Coordinator. The email has attached .pdfs containing an entry summary and the declaration forms. THESE MUST BE SIGNED BY THE PRINCIPAL then scanned and emailed to the regatta hosts.


Incomplete entries?

If your school is showing as having incomplete entries then there are crews that have been selected but not yet entered in the regatta. If you are part way through entries this is normal. Otherwise, to remedy this:

  1. Log in (here).
  2. Make sure each form on the "other forms" page is complete.
  3. Go to the "submit entries" page*.
  4. Tick the box to agree to the Regatta's Terms & Conditions.
  5. Click the "submit my entries" button*.

When you do this an email confirmation of your entries, together with an entry summary and the declaration forms required for the regatta, will be sent to your school's Sports Coordinator and the email address given on the first of the "other forms".

* If you have already submitted your entries but later made changes to those entries which need re-submitting then you will also show on the incomplete list and the link and submission button (see 3 & 5 above) will say "update entries". (If the link is not active you need to also check your "other forms").

Non-financial members

Any non-financial members cannot enter NZSSRA Championships and should contact the Schools Committee urgently if they are hoping to enter SISSC.


Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2015 AGM and not increased last year: 1X $15, 2X/2- $20, 4X+/4+ $30, 8X+/8+ $40, amenity $16 per pupil.

Entry limits2 crews per school per event (excl 8(X)+s)

This Season the usual limit of 2 crews-per-school-per-event will apply for events other than eights and octuples. There is no limit for all eights and octuples events.

Schools must also be aware the compressed nature of this regatta means there should be no expectation any pupil who is entered in more than one event will have sufficient time available to compete in all of those events.

Note: entry limits get raised slowly during supplementary entries

The 2016 Champions

St Andrews College narrowly won the Points Bell, for Champion South Island School, with 69 points. Christchurch Boys High School came second with 68 points. Rangi Ruru Girls School took third place on 62 points. The lead changed place regularly throughout the regatta and the trophy was only decided on the final race of the day!

St Andrews College also had the largest medal haul at the regatta (6 gold, 2 silver, 3 bronze) but 28 other schools also collected medals.

The standard of competition was very high and the 12 pennant events (those with unrestricted entry i.e. U18 non-novice, non-lightweight) were shared between 7 different schools. CBHS won all three boys sculling pennant events and the sweep oar ones were split between MLBB (2) and CHCO (1). Nobody dominated the girls sweep oar pennant events, which were shared between CRAI, NCOG, and STMG; ASHB (2) and NCOG (1) took the sculling ones.

Christs College won the Boys Under-18 Eights and St Margarets College won the Girls Under-18 Eights.

Special mention goes to Veronica Wall of ASHB who managed a clean sweep of the girls single sculls (U16, U17, and U18). This was first time that had been achieved at any NZSSRA Championships since the U16 singles were introduced in 2011.

News 2017-01-17

2016 Stats

1104 pupils from 48 schools were entered in 3120 seats in 874 crews. 203 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 52 events.


While South Island schools are competing on Lake Ruataniwha for recognition as the best the South Island has to offer their North Island counter-parts will do the same thing up at the 2016 Aon North Island Champs on Lake Karapiro. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

Warm clothing

Although rowing is a summer sport the weather does not always co-operate and the lake if fed from glaciers. It is essential everybody has warm clothing available and uses it. Officials do not want to see crews arriving at the start shivering when they should be dressed warmly and removing the extra layers pre-race.

Number of events per pupil

After a review of the per pupil entries for the last few Seasons' school regattas and much discussion about the health and safety of each rower, the Schools Committee continues to make the following recommendation:

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

In reaching the recommendation advice was sought from physiologists, leading elite coaches and the NZ Secondary School Sports Council. The Schools Committee will continue to monitor the entry per pupil this season.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria pupils "new" to a school

The NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria were recently revised with effect this year. An updated article about the NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria is available to help members assess whether or not each of their pupils is considered new to their school. Schools are limited to 3 "new" pupils in an eight and 1 "new" pupil in other boats ("new" pupils are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is now also a limit of 2 pupils with an NZSSSC-issed PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).

Lightweightschanges and reminders

Following the SGM in November lightweight rowing has been restricted to older pupils. The lightweight events are now "Over-15" events. This means they are no longer open to pupils who are Under-16 (Over-15 = 16 = Under-17).

We also take this opportunity to remind Members who enter lightweight rowers in both lightweight events that NZSSRA Rules require crews to weigh in before EACH event (Rule 12). Pupils cannot weigh-in once for both events. This is different from coxswains but coxswains can be check-weighed at any time whereas lightweights cannot.

As we have been repeatedly assured all lightweights at our regattas are genuine lightweights and naturally below the weight limits the Rule requirements should present no challenges with respect to making weight. An athlete who has to avoid re-hydrating and eating between events in order to make weight for both events should not be racing lightweight.


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council and by the New Zealand Rowing Association.