est. 1967

Marlborough Girls College's approved colours
#44: Marlborough Girls College

Aon NZ



  Printer Friendly Version updated: 31 May 2023  

2023 Aon Maadi Regatta NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

NZSSRA has a number of trophies for awarding at regattas; particularly at Maadi (National Champs). These are listed below. For information about donating trophies see Regulation 19 of the NZSSRA Regulations.

Trophies list

Trophy name Regatta Event sex ▼Age group Boat type
Maadi CupMaadiBoys under-18 eight
Springbok ShieldMaadiBoys under-18 four
Arthur Andrews ShieldMaadiBoys under-17 eight
Bill Eaddy CupMaadiBoys under-15 quad
Charlie Stapp CupMaadiBoys under-18 single
Doug Burrows TrophyMaadiBoys under-18 lightweight four
Dunstan TrophyMaadiBoys under-18 pair
Electricorp TrophyMaadiBoys under-16 eight
Eric Craies CupMaadiBoys under-15 four
Gill TrophyMaadiBoys under-18 novice four
R.J.Hampton Memorial ShieldMaadiBoys under-17 four
Tauranga Boys High School CupMaadiBoys under-17 quad
Trevor Coker Memorial ShieldMaadiBoys under-18 quad
Walmsley CupMaadiBoys under-15 eight
Westlake Boys High School CupMaadiBoys under-16 four
Maurice Jones CupMaadiBoys under-18 double
St Andrews College CupMaadiBoys under-17 double
Mark Meates CupMaadiBoys under-15 double
Leith Menzies CupMaadiBoys under-16 single
John Alexander Challenge CupMaadiBoys under-17 single
Roger Batley CupMaadiBoys under-18 lightweight double
Russell Baxter Memorial CupMaadiBoys under-18 novice double
Leslie J. Saywood Challenge CupMaadiBoys under-15 octuple
Alan Tong CupMaadiBoys under-18 novice eight
Wellington College 150th CupMaadiBoys under-16 quad
Bill Yorwarth CupNISSCBoys under-15 eight
Mike Powell Memorial ShieldNISSCBoys under-15 four
George Hale RosebowlNISSCBoys under-16 eight
Graeme Hodge (HODGIE) Memorial CupNISSCBoys under-16 four
Bill Eaddy TrophyNISSCBoys under-17 eight
Waikato Inter-school ShieldNISSCBoys under-17 four
Oarthentic Oars TrophyNISSCBoys under-17 single
John Symes CupNISSCBoys under-18 pair
Thompson Memorial ShieldNISSCBoys under-18 eight
Bob Harris CupNISSCBoys under-18 four
Mexico Olympic Coxed Four CupNISSCBoys under-18 novice eight
Rex Mikkleson Memorial Trophy NISSCBoys under-18 quad
Jack Flynn MemorialNISSCBoys under-18 single
Fred Strachan CupSISSCBoys under-18 eight
Dawn CupMaadiGirls under-18 four
Levin 75th Jubilee CupMaadiGirls under-18 eight
Electricorp TrophyMaadiGirls under-16 four
Fairfield ShieldMaadiGirls under-17 eight
Gary Robertson CupMaadiGirls under-18 pair
Gill TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 novice four
Hauraki OarMaadiGirls under-17 four
McDonald ShieldMaadiGirls under-16 eight
Noel Lynch TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 quad
Pitt Island TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 double
Rex Farrelly TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 lightweight four
Stephanie Foster CupMaadiGirls under-18 single
Tauranga Girls High School CupMaadiGirls under-15 eight
Trudy Keys CupMaadiGirls under-17 quad
Waikato Diocesan School for Girls CupMaadiGirls under-15 four
Francis Hill Memorial CupMaadiGirls under-15 double
Lawrence 'Jumbo' Jackson CupMaadiGirls under-17 double
Bethlehem College CupMaadiGirls under-16 quad
Concept2 Challenge CupMaadiGirls under-17 single
Earthquake Memorial CupMaadiGirls under-15 quad
Keith 'Hibbo' Hibberd PlateMaadiGirls under-18 lightweight double
Craighead Diocesan School CupMaadiGirls under-16 double
Mary Thomas CupMaadiGirls under-16 single
Brother Terrence Costello CupMaadiGirls under-18 novice eight
Dudley Storey CupMaadiGirls under-15 octuple
Bill Yorwarth Memorial CupNISSCGirls under-15 eight
Westlake Girls High School CupNISSCGirls under-16 eight
Bruce Fuller Memorial CupNISSCGirls under-16 quad
Wilkinson CupNISSCGirls under-17 eight
Oarthentic Oars TrophyNISSCGirls under-17 single
Fairfield Rowing Supporters ShieldNISSCGirls under-18 eight
Dave Rodger CupNISSCGirls under-18 four
Martin Hyde CupNISSCGirls under-18 novice double
Jack Flynn MemorialNISSCGirls under-18 single
Kate Strachan Memorial CupSISSCGirls under-18 eight
Keith 'Hibbo' Hibberd PlateMaadiGirls under-18 novice quad
Presidents ScullMaadiChampion sculling school
Executive TrophyMaadiChampion sweep oar school
Star TrophyMaadiChampion school of the regatta
Points BellSISSCChampion school of the regatta
Derbyshire ShieldNISSCChampion school of the regatta

Other Trophies

These trophies are awarded to individuals, not members, but are awarded at the Maadi (National Champs) regatta.

SIMON BRIGGS CUP (Coxswain's Cup)
Awarded to the coxswain that coxes the most boats into the 'A' finals of the Championships. In the case of a draw Novice events shall carry more weight than U15 events. U15 events shall carry more weight than U16. U16 more than U17 etc.

PETER IRVINE MEMORIAL CUP (Coach of winning B U18 8+)
Awarded to the coach of the winning crew of the Boys Under-18 Eight at Maadi (Maadi Cup event).

BILL EADDY CUP (Coach's Cup)
Awarded by RowingNZ to the Junior coach of the year.

Trophy details Quick links to groups of trophies

As our resources increase we will endeavour to make the history of each NZSSRA trophy available. Hopefully, with the cooperation of the rowing community and schools we will also be able to complement the trophy histories with rolls of the winning schools and perhaps even the names of the winning crews. If you have any information regarding the history of any of the trophies (including winning schools/crews) please email it to [email protected]. Thank you.

For information about donating trophies see Regulation 19.

Top Ten badges

In addition to trophies, NZSSRA also awards Top Ten badges annually. These go to the crew members of the top 10 crews in Under-18 events (excluding Under-18 Novice) at the New Zealand Championships, provided there are least 11 crews competing (see Regulation 18).

Students receive a Top Ten badge each year they qualify (not one per event). There are 5 different coloured badges; awarded in a 5-year cycle. This means it is (theoretically) possible for a student to leave school with a complete set of 5 different coloured badges:

  • Black: 2013, 2018, 2024
  • Blue: 2014, 2019, 2025
  • Green: 2015, 2021*, 2026
  • Purple: 2016, 2022, 2027
  • Red: 2017, 2023, 2028

* Maadi was cancelled due to COVID-19 in 2020 so no badges were awarded and green was held over to 2021