est. 1967

Karapiro Rowing Board
Sonya Walker (NZSSRA)

Terry Tidbury (Chief Umpire)
John Hatwell (Chief Judge)
Mary Birch (Chief Starter)
Scott Wilson (NZSSRA)
Warren Thomas (Regatta Committee)

Tony Allen (Umpire)
Steve Brine (Judge)
Brian Parr (Starter)

SISSC 2019

Aon NZ


2019 NISSC

  Printer Friendly Version December 2018  

2023 Aon Maadi Regatta NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

2019 Aon North Island Secondary Schools Champs Logo Karapiro, 8-10 March 2019
terms & conditions | programme of events (txt) | progression system | entries | results

  • Where: Lake Karapiro [map], Waikato, New Zealand.
  • When: Friday 8 to Sunday 10 March 2019 (3 full days of racing)
  • What: North Island schools competing for supremacy in 50 events and preparing to challenge the South Islanders at Maadi.
  • Communication with the organisers of the 2019 North Island Secondary School Champs can be made using email to: [email protected]

Wrap-upNISSC 2019

The North Island Championships are finished for another year. Conditions were pretty good, though wind did cause a stoppage on the Friday.

St Peters School won the Derbyshire Shield for Champion School of the regatta. Last year's champions, Hamilton Boys High School, came in second.

In the 12 pennant events (those with unrestricted entry i.e. U18, excl novice) honours were shared between just 5 different schools. STPC won 5 of the 6 sculling event; SHAK prevented them from having a clean sweep. WKDS cleaned up the girls sweep oar events. WTLB won 2 of the boys sweep events and HAMB won the third.

Hamilton Boys High School won the Boys Under-18 Eights and Waikato Diocesan School won the Girls Under-18 Eights.

Novice Quads were official Championships events for the first time this year. They were won by MTMA (girls) and TRGB (boys).

Schools will now be looking forward to seeing their South Island counterparts arrive at Karapiro for the 2019 Aon Maadi Cup.

Results by rowIT

Live results were available during the regatta. Results can be found on the rowIT website:

Results for:

Confused by the colors or codes? There's a list of school codes and colours, as well a page with indicative images of school colours.

Penalties, exclusions & relegations

  • A school was fined $500, its crew given a yellow card, and the coach reprimanded by the Chief Umpire. This was the response (under Rule 18.2) to a safety breach caused by crew going on the water while the red flag was flying.
  • MACL#1 excluded in the heats of event 4 (G U15 4X+) for receiving 2 yellow cards. The first because the crew did not make sure the coxswain weighed in on time. The second for a false start.

News 2019-03-28

2019 Stats

At close of entries there were 1891 students from 105 schools entered in 4548 seats in 1308 crews.

Tent Sites

Tent sites are ordered during the online entry process and are allocated by ballot after close of entries.

Entry Fees

Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2017 AGM: 1X $17, 2X/2- $19, 4X+/4+ $28, 8X+/8+ $35, amenity $24.00 per student.


While North Island schools are competing on Lake Karapiro for recognition as the best the North Island has to offer their South Island counter-parts will be do the same thing up at the 2019 Meridian South Island Champs on Lake Ruataniwha. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

Entry limits

There is an entry limit of 2 crews per event per school (except for lightweights, which are not accepting entries due to being de-sanctioned).

Number of events per student

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria

Schools are limited to 3 "new" students in an eight and 1 "new" student in other boats ("new" students are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is now also a limit of 2 students with an NZSSSC-issued PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).

2018 Stats

There were 1852 students from 93 schools entered in 5091 seats in 1391 crews. 301 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 50 events.


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council.

Aon NZ