est. 1967

Ruataniwha Rowing Board
Sonya Walker (NZSSRA)

Peter Midgely (Chief Umpire)
Darryl Purton (Chief Judge)
Justin Wall (Chief Starter)
Trudy Keys (NZSSRA)
Pat McQuinn (Regatta Committee)

NISSC 2019

Aon NZ


2019 Meridian SISSC

  Printer Friendly Version December 2018  

2020 Aon Maadi Cup Notices - Sitemap -  

2019 Meridian South Island Secondary Schools Champs Logo Lake Ruataniwha, 8-10 March 2019
terms & conditions | programme of events | progression system | entries | results

  • Where: Lake Ruataniwha [map], Mackenzie Country, New Zealand.
  • When: Friday 8 (part day), Saturday 9, and Sunday 10 March 2019
  • What: South Island schools competing for supremacy in 50 events and preparing to challenge the North Islanders at Maadi.
  • Communication with the organisers of the 2019 South Island Secondary School Champs can be made using email to: [email protected]

Wrap-upSISSC 2019

The South Island Championships are finished for another year. There was excellent racing and some fast times recorded. The Friday start helped relieve programming pressures and is a positive change to the regatta.

Christchurch Boys High School won the Points Bell for Champion School of the regatta for the second consecutive year. Rangi Ruru Girls School were second again too.

As usual the standard of competition was very high. The 12 pennant events (those with unrestricted entry i.e. U18, excl novice) were shared between 6 different schools. The boys pennant events were shared between just 2 schools. CBHS took out the sweep events; OBHS the sculling ones. The girls events were more spread out more. CRAI won 3 events; AVSG, CGHS, and STMG won 1 each.

Christchurch Boys High School won the Boys Under-18 Eights and St Margarets College won the Girls Under-18 Eights.

The Novice Quads were officially Championships events for the first time this year. They were won by MLBG (girls) and MLBB (boys).

Next up is a chance for schools to compete against their North Island counterparts at the 2019 Aon Maadi Cup.

Results by rowIT

Live results were available during the regatta. Results can be found on the rowIT website:

Results for:

Confused by the colors or codes? There's a list of school codes and colours, as well a page with indicative images of school colours.

Disqualifications & exclusions

News 2019-03-08

2019 Stats

At close of entries there were 1077 students from 49 schools entered in 2861 seats in 799 crews.

3-day regatta Friday start

This year's regatta will be starting on Friday.. Friday is not intended to be a full day's racing. Instead it will relieve the scheduling pressure seen in recent years. Having 11-12 hours of racing scheduled for the Saturday was not a long term solution!


While South Island schools are competing on Lake Ruataniwha for recognition as the best the South Island has to offer their North Island counter-parts will do the same thing up at the 2019 Aon North Island Champs on Lake Karapiro. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

Entry Fees

Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2017 AGM: 1X $16, 2X/2- $20, 4X+/4+ $30, 8X+/8+ $44, amenity $22 per student.

Entry limits

Lightweight events: 0 crews per school per event; events other than eights and octuples: 2 crews-per-school-per-event; eights and octuples: no limit.

Number of events per student

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria

Schools are limited to 3 "new" students in an eight and 1 "new" student in other boats ("new" students are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is now also a limit of 2 students with an NZSSSC-issued PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).

2018 Stats

There were 1110 students from 49 schools entered in 3324 seats in 928 crews. 184 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 50 events.


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council.