est. 1967

Timaru Boys High School's approved colours
#57: Timaru Boys High School

SISSC 2023

NISSC 2023

Aon NZ



  Printer Friendly Version updated: 8 April 2022  

2022 Aon Maadi Cup NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

The NZSSRA has a number of trophies for awarding at regattas; particularly at Maadi (National Champs). These are listed below. For information about donating trophies see Regulation 19 of the NZSSRA Regulations.

Trophies list

Trophy name ▼Regatta Event sex Age group Boat type
Alan Tong CupMaadiBoys under-18 novice eight
Arthur Andrews ShieldMaadiBoys under-17 eight
Bethlehem College CupMaadiGirls under-16 quad
Bill Eaddy CupMaadiBoys under-15 quad
Brother Terrence Costello CupMaadiGirls under-18 novice eight
Charlie Stapp CupMaadiBoys under-18 single
Concept2 Challenge CupMaadiGirls under-17 single
Craighead Diocesan School CupMaadiGirls under-16 double
Dawn CupMaadiGirls under-18 four
Doug Burrows TrophyMaadiBoys under-18 lightweight four
Dudley Storey CupMaadiGirls under-15 octuple
Dunstan TrophyMaadiBoys under-18 pair
Earthquake Memorial CupMaadiGirls under-15 quad
Electricorp TrophyMaadiGirls under-16 four
Electricorp TrophyMaadiBoys under-16 eight
Eric Craies CupMaadiBoys under-15 four
Executive TrophyMaadiChampion sweep oar school
Fairfield ShieldMaadiGirls under-17 eight
Francis Hill Memorial CupMaadiGirls under-15 double
Gary Robertson CupMaadiGirls under-18 pair
Gill TrophyMaadiBoys under-18 novice four
Gill TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 novice four
Hauraki OarMaadiGirls under-17 four
John Alexander Challenge CupMaadiBoys under-17 single
Keith 'Hibbo' Hibberd PlateMaadiGirls under-18 lightweight double
Lawrence 'Jumbo' Jackson CupMaadiGirls under-17 double
Leith Menzies CupMaadiBoys under-16 single
Leslie J. Saywood Challenge CupMaadiBoys under-15 octuple
Levin 75th Jubilee CupMaadiGirls under-18 eight
Maadi CupMaadiBoys under-18 eight
Mark Meates CupMaadiBoys under-15 double
Mary Thomas CupMaadiGirls under-16 single
Maurice Jones CupMaadiBoys under-18 double
McDonald ShieldMaadiGirls under-16 eight
Noel Lynch TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 quad
Pitt Island TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 double
Points BellSISSCChampion school of the regatta
Presidents ScullMaadiChampion sculling school
R.J.Hampton Memorial ShieldMaadiBoys under-17 four
Rex Farrelly TrophyMaadiGirls under-18 lightweight four
Roger Batley CupMaadiBoys under-18 lightweight double
Russell Baxter Memorial CupMaadiBoys under-18 novice double
Springbok ShieldMaadiBoys under-18 four
St Andrews College CupMaadiBoys under-17 double
Star TrophyMaadiChampion school of the regatta
Stephanie Foster CupMaadiGirls under-18 single
Tauranga Boys High School CupMaadiBoys under-17 quad
Tauranga Girls High School CupMaadiGirls under-15 eight
Trevor Coker Memorial ShieldMaadiBoys under-18 quad
Trudy Keys CupMaadiGirls under-17 quad
Waikato Diocesan School for Girls CupMaadiGirls under-15 four
Walmsley CupMaadiBoys under-15 eight
Wellington College 150th CupMaadiBoys under-16 quad
Westlake Boys High School CupMaadiBoys under-16 four

Other Trophies

These trophies are awarded to individuals, not members, but are awarded at the Maadi (National Champs) regatta.

SIMON BRIGGS CUP (Coxswain's Cup)
Awarded to the coxswain that coxes the most boats into the 'A' finals of the Championships. In the case of a draw Novice events shall carry more weight than U15 events. U15 events shall carry more weight than U16. U16 more than U17 etc.

PETER IRVINE MEMORIAL CUP (Coach of winning B U18 8+)
Awarded to the coach of the winning crew of the Boys Under-18 Eight at Maadi (Maadi Cup event).

BILL EADDY CUP (Coach's Cup)
Awarded by RowingNZ to the Junior coach of the year.

Trophy details Quick links to groups of trophies

As our resources increase we will endeavour to make the history of each NZSSRA trophy available. Hopefully, with the cooperation of the rowing community and schools we will also be able to complement the trophy histories with rolls of the winning schools and perhaps even the names of the winning crews. If you have any information regarding the history of any of the trophies (including winning schools/crews) please email it to [email protected]. Thank you.

For information about donating trophies see Regulation 19.