est. 1967

Hillmorton High School's approved colours
#136: Hillmorton High School

Aon NZ



  Printer Friendly Version updated: 14 February 2023  

2023 Aon Maadi Regatta NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

Not up to date...

Pending an overhaul the database only holds results up to 2015. This means trophy holder details are not up to date.

Photo of CupMaadi Cup Boys under-18 eight

Awarded at Maadi (National Champs) since 1947 to the winner of the Boys under-18 eight, the Cup is currently held by Hamilton Boys High School [HAMB].

The Hamilton Boys High School crew won the event in 2015 by about quarter of a length from Christ's College [race results].

Full event results are available for: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015.

A brief history

This is the Cup the New Zealand Secondary Schools Championship Regatta has taken its name from. Inscribed on the cup is the following:

This cup, the gift of Dr Youssef Bahgat of the Cairo Rowing Club, Egypt, was presented to the Maadi Camp Rowing Club as a token of friendship between members of the Cairo Rowing Club and "Kiwi" oarsmen of the Second NZEF following the winning of the Fryberg Cup by the New Zealand oarsmen in competition with members of the Cairo Rowing Club at a regatta on the Nile on the 20th November, 1943.

The Kiwi oarsmen of Maadi Camp Rowing Club won the regatta for the Freyberg Cup by 11 points to 6. However, they donated the trophy to the Cairo Rowing Club for future competition. In return Dr Bahgat presented the Kiwi oarsmen with the cup that was to become the Maadi Cup. At the conclusion of the war it was brought back to New Zealand where it named the Maadi Cup and presented to the NZARA (now the NZRA) for the annual eight-oared competition among the New Zealand Secondary Schools. The first race was held at Wanganui in 1947 and it was won by Mt. Albert Grammar.

Other trophies