est. 1967

Whangarei Girls High School's approved colours
#110: Whangarei Girls High School

SISSC 2023

NISSC 2023

Aon NZ


  Printer Friendly Version Tuesday, 28 March 2023 08:14  

2023 Aon Maadi Regatta NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

NZSSRA website

Welcome to the New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association website. This site is here to provide schools and school rowers with an easily accessed resource of information about schools rowing in New Zealand.

The March newsletter is now available.

Annual General Meeting March 26, Karāpiro

The Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association was held at Karāpiro on Sunday 26 March 2023. The Agenda for the 2023 AGM can be viewed online. Draft minutes will be published when available.

2023 Championships Regattas NISSC, SISSC, Maadi

Maadi logo
Logo Logo

Special General Meeting 23 January 2023, ballot

The 2023 New Zealand Secondary Schools Special Annual General Meeting was held by postal ballot on 23 January 2023.

Draft minutes for the SGM will be made available as soon as the ballots have been checked and tallied.

The Agenda is still available online. It includes fees for the 2023 Championships regattas.

Memorial Notice Brother Terence Costello FMS

NZSSRA wishes to record the passing of Brother Terence Costello FMS who died peacefully on Friday night.

Most recently based in Auckland, Brother Terence gave a lifetime of service to rowing. He was a coach in Auckland in the 1970s. Then in Wellington in 1980s and 90s. Before returning again to Auckland to coach throughout the 2000s and up to 2015, when he moved to Suva to take up a role as Principal of the Marist Brothers school there.

Brother Terence was Chairman of NZSSRA in the 1980s and President in the mid-1990s. At one stage he also the filled the Secretary/Treasurer role on top of being Chairman. His many contributions to school rowing in NZ were recognised by the NZSSRA when he was admitted as a Life Member of NZSSRA.

The trophy for the Girls Novice Eights is the Brother Terrence Costello Cup.

COVID-19 recovery return to rowing guidance

RNZ has been receiving questions around what does return to rowing look like for rowers who have had covid. While there is some research done overseas, at this stage within New Zealand there is very little. RNZ has worked with three medical practitioners to develop guidance for return to rowing (.pdf). This is particularly relevant to students and Maadi. In summary:

  • COVID-19 is known to affect the heart, lungs, and brains. There is a very real risk if you exercise too early you could experience longer term COVID-19 and other health issues.
  • It is critical to return your rowers to training using a safe and graduated approach. The guidance is to only return to exercise after at least seven days free of symptoms followed by a minimum of two weeks with minimal exertion.

What this mean, in relation to Maadi, is:

  • COVID-19 positive or symptomatic during Maadi: if a student presents any symptoms or tests positive during the regatta they should be withdrawn from Maadi immediately.
  • COVID-19 positive 13 - 27 March: if a student tested/tests positive in the fortnight leading up to Maadi then, irrespective of the severity of the symptoms, they should not be competing at Maadi.
  • COVID-19 positive 28 February - 13 March: the school should seek a medical clearance from a Doctor, providing a clear statement that the young person is fit and healthy to undertake strenuous exercise, such as multiple races at Maadi between the 28th of March and 2nd of April.
    Note: any student still presenting symptoms into the week prior to Maadi (21 - 27 March inclusive): should not be allowed to compete at Maadi.
  • COVID-19 positive before the end of February: any student who is still presenting any mild or moderate symptoms associated with COVID-19 should see their own Doctor before undertaking any rowing or other physical activity.
    If the school is aware the student has ongoing symptoms they should require a medical certificate before allowing the student back into training or racing.

If you have any questions contact Mark on either 021 132 4519 or [email protected]

New Schools 2022-2023 season

The NZSSRA's newest member schools:

  • Te Aho O Te Kura Pounamu [TAOP]
  • Trinity Catholic College* [TRIN]

and rejoining after an absence:

  • Rotorua Girls High School [ROTG]
  • Francis Douglas Memorial College [FRAN]
  • Rangitoto College [RGTT]
  • Taradale High School [TRDL]
  • Rangiora High School [RAHS]
  • Whangarei Boys High School [WHGB]

We look forward to seeing these schools compete in regattas this season.

If you know of any other schools wanting to join NZSSRA this season please point them to our website or the Schools Committee.

* formerly Kavanagh College [KAVA]