est. 1967

South Island Rowing Board

NISSC 2022

Aon NZ


2022 Meridian SISSC

  Printer Friendly Version February 2022  

2023 Aon Maadi Regatta NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

2022 Meridian South Island Secondary Schools Champs Logo Lake Ruataniwha, 11-13 March 2022
terms & conditions | programme of events | progression system | entries | results

  • Where: Lake Ruataniwha [map], Mackenzie Country, New Zealand.
  • When: Friday 11 (part day), Saturday 12, and Sunday 13 March 2022
  • What: South Island schools competing for supremacy in 52 events and preparing to challenge the North Islanders at Maadi.

Wrap-upSISSC 2022

The South Island Championships are finished for another year. Due to taking place during Phase 3 of the Red setting of the COVID-19 Protection Framework for the coronavirus pandemic, this would be by far the most unusual South Island Championships ever held.

In order to attend the regatta, schools operated out of Zones, set up to keep numbers down and reduce contact between groups. Squads had to grapple with last-minute scratchings and changes, as students tested positive for COVID-19 and/or had to isolate (even while the regatta was underway). Despite this, unlike in 2021, the regatta went ahead and was able to be completed.

Unfortunately, the weather was not entirely cooperative this year. There were wind delays on Friday and some of the heats were completed on a shortened, 1000m, course. But finals were completed on the 2000m course.

Rangi Ruru girls School won the Points Bell for Champion School of the regatta; breaking a 3-year streak by Christs College. Wakatipu High School was second. Followed by St Andrews College in third.

As usual the standard of competition was high. The 12 pennant events (those with unrestricted entry i.e. U18, excl novice) were again shared between 7 different schools. TIMB and RRGS each managed to win 3 events. STAN won 2 events; BURN, DUNS, OBHS, and QHCA won 1 each.

Rangi Ruru Girls School won the Girls Under-18 Eightsand St Andrews College won the Boys Under-18 Eights.

Next up is a chance for schools to compete against their North Island counterparts at the 2022 Aon Maadi Cup.

Results by rowIT

Live results were available during the regatta. Results can be found on the rowIT website:

Results for:

Confused by the colors or codes? There's a list of school codes and colours, as well a page with indicative images of school colours.

News 2022-02-25

2022 Stats

At close of entries there are 1076 students from 43 schools entered in 3071 seats in 806 crews.

Entry Fees

Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2021 AGM: 1X $18, 2X/2- $20, 4X+/4+ $30, 8X+/8+ $44, amenity $25 per student.


While South Island schools are competing on Lake Ruataniwha for recognition as the best the South Island has to offer their North Island counter-parts will do the same thing up at the four two 2022 Aon North Island Champs regattas on Lake Karapiro. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

Entry limits

There is an entry limit of 2 crews per event per school; except in eights and octuples, which have no limit.

Number of events per student

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria

Schools are limited to 3 "new" students in an eight and 1 "new" student in other boats ("new" students are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is now also a limit of 2 students with an NZSSSC-issued PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).

2021 Stats

Although the regatta was cancelled, there were 1028 students from 44 schools entered in 2889 seats in 786 crews. 194 races were scheduled to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 52 events (incl exhibition U17 2-).


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council.