2020 Aon North Island Secondary Schools Champs Logo Karapiro, 8-10 March 2019
terms & conditions | programme of events (txt) | progression system | entries | results

Entry limits

The entry limits are different this year. But they are straightforward: 2 crews per event per school; except for eights and octuples, which have no limit.

Schools must also be aware the compressed nature of this regatta means there should be no expectation any student who is entered in more than one event will have sufficient time available to compete in all of those events. There is only enough time to be able to hold semi-finals for the most heavily entered events and this brings together events that might usually be spread well apart during heats and finals.

Note: entry limits will not rise during supplementary entries, which are only limited late entries.

Number of events per student

After its annual review of per-student entry level, and much discussion about the health and safety of rowers, the Schools Committee continues to make the following recommendation:

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

In reaching the recommendation advice was sought from physiologists, leading elite coaches and the NZ Secondary School Sports Council. The Schools Committee will continue to monitor the number of entries per student this season.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria students "new" to a school

The NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria were recently revised with effect 2018. An article about the NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria is available to help members assess whether or not each of their students is considered new to their school. Schools are limited to 3 "new" students in an eight and 1 "new" student in other boats ("new" students are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is now also a limit of 2 students with an NZSSSC-issued PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).


Online regatta entry is NOW OPEN. Entries will CLOSE at 8:00AM Tuesday 3 March 2020.

Passwords for online regatta entry are held by Member Schools' Sports Coordinators (schools should contact the Manager regarding misplaced passwords.)

Most schools seem to leave making their entries until the last day or two. Anybody planning on doing this is strongly advised to carry out Roster Maintenance between now and then so the actual entry process is not unnecessarily complicated/delayed by having to update the school's roster of students.

Please don't hesitate to make use of your club contacts to get your entries completed but make sure you receive the declarations and get those properly checked, completed and returned to the hosts.

Entries 101

Online Regatta Entry is a 4-step process:

  1. Select a squad of students from the school's roster (remember to include any reserves!)
  2. Select crews using the squad members
  3. Provide the information required for the regatta declaration forms
  4. Submit the entries*

* When entries are submitted an email confirmation is generated and sent to the Sports Coordinator. The email has attached .pdfs containing an entry summary and the declaration forms. THESE MUST BE SIGNED BY THE PRINCIPAL then scanned and emailed to the regatta hosts.


Incomplete entries?

If your school is showing as having incomplete entries then there are crews that have been selected but not yet entered in the regatta. If you are part way through entries this is normal. Otherwise, to remedy this:

  1. Log in (here).
  2. Make sure each form on the "other forms" page is complete.
  3. Go to the "submit entries" page*.
  4. Tick the box to agree to the Regatta's Terms & Conditions.
  5. Click the "submit my entries" button*.

When you do this an email confirmation of your entries, together with an entry summary and the declaration forms required for the regatta, will be sent to your school's Sports Coordinator and the email address given on the first of the "other forms".

* If you have already submitted your entries but later made changes to those entries which need re-submitting then you will also show on the incomplete list and the link and submission button (see 3 & 5 above) will say "update entries". (If the link is not active you need to also check your "other forms").

Non-financial members

Any non-financial members cannot enter NZSSRA Championships and should contact the Schools Committee urgently if they are hoping to enter NISSC.


Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2019 AGM: 1X $19, 2X/2- $21, 4X+/4+ $29, 8X+/8+ $36, amenity $24.00 per student.

News 2020-01-01

Tent Sites

Tent sites are ordered during the online entry process and are allocated by ballot after close of entries.


While North Island schools are competing on Lake Karapiro for recognition as the best the North Island has to offer their South Island counter-parts will be do the same thing up at the 2020 Meridian South Island Champs on Lake Ruataniwha. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

2019 Stats

There were 1905 students from 100 schools entered in 4798 seats in 1391 crews. 309 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 50 events.

Regatta Documentation


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council.

© Copyright NZSSRA 2003-2020