est. 1967

Macleans College's approved colours
#41: Macleans College

Aon NZ



  Printer Friendly Version updated: 14 February 2023  

2023 Aon Maadi Regatta NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

Not up to date...

Pending an overhaul the database only holds results up to 2015. This means trophy holder details are not up to date.

Photo of CupDawn Cup Girls under-18 four

Awarded at Maadi (National Champs) since 1980 to the winner of the Girls under-18 four, the Cup is currently held by Waikato Diocesan School [WKDS].

The Waikato Diocesan School crew won the event in 2015 by about 1.25 lengths from Rangi Ruru Girls School [race results].

Full event results are available for: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015.

A brief history

At the Maadi Regatta of 1980, held on the Wairoa River, a cup was donated by Noel Lynch for the Girls Under 19 Four. On finals day, Officials were unable to keep to time. By dark the Boys Under 17 Eight and the Girls Under 19 Four had not been rowed. These races were then scheduled to be held at 6:30 a.m. Sunday morning. Because of this, Noel Lynch and Enoka Macdonald decided that the trophy should be called the Dawn Cup. It was first won by Queen Charlotte College.

Other trophies