est. 1967

Karapiro Rowing Board
Sonya Walker (NZSSRA)

John Hatwell (Chief Umpire)
Tony Allen (Chief Judge)
James Boyce (Chief Starter)
Janey Wackrow (NZSSRA)
Warren Thomas (Regatta Committee)

SISSC 2018

Aon NZ


2018 NISSC

  Printer Friendly Version January 2018  

2019 Aon Maadi Cup NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

2018 Aon North Island Secondary Schools Champs Logo Karapiro, 2-4 March 2018
terms & conditions | programme of events (txt) | progression system | entries | results

  • Where: Lake Karapiro [map], Waikato, New Zealand.
  • When: Friday 2 to Sunday 4 March 2018 (3 full days of racing)
  • What: North Island schools competing for supremacy in 50* events and preparing to challenge the South Islanders at Maadi.
  • Communication with the organisers of the 2018 North Island Secondary School Champs can be made using email to: [email protected]
* Due to NZSSSC withdrawing sanctioning for lighweight rowing the 4 lightweight events will not be contested at this regatta. However, Novice quads have been added as exhibition events.

Wrap-upNISSC 2018

The North Island Championships are finished for another year. There was some great racing. Conditions, although not great on day one, improved over the course of the three days.

Hamilton Boys High School won the Derbyshire Shield for Champion School of the regatta. It was another close win for them; requiring at least a 1st or 2nd in the B U18 8+ to clinch the Shield (they won the race).

The standard of competition was very high and the 12 pennant events (those with unrestricted entry i.e. U18 non-novice, non-lightweight) were shared between 8 different schools. The boys pennant events were shared between 4 schools. HAMB won half them. WTLB, KGCA, and CAMB won the other 3. The girls events were similarly distributed. STPC won 3 events. And ONSL, WTLG, and BARA won the other 3.

Hamilton Boys High School won the Boys Under-18 Eights and St Peters School won the Girls Under-18 Eights.

The brand new exhibition Novice Quads were won by TRGG (girls) and STPC (boys).

Schools will now be looking forward to a chance to head down to Ruataniwha and compete against their South Island counterparts at the 2018 Aon Maadi Cup.

Results by rowIT

Live results were available. Results can be found on the rowIT website:

Results for:

Confused by the codes? There's a list of school codes and colours, as well a page with indicative images of school colours.

Exclusions & relegations

News 2018-02-28

2018 Stats

There wre 1852 students from 93 schools entered in 5091 seats in 1391 crews. 301 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 50 events.

Novice quads

Novice quadruple sculls events have been added as exhibition events 35E and 36E. They can be entered during supplementary entry.

Tent Sites

Tent sites are ordered during the online entry process and are allocated by ballot after close of entries.


While North Island schools are competing on Lake Karapiro for recognition as the best the North Island has to offer their South Island counter-parts will be do the same thing up at the 2018 Meridian South Island Champs on Lake Ruataniwha. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

Entry Fees

Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2017 AGM: 1X $15, 2X/2- $17, 4X+/4+ $26, 8X+/8+ $33, amenity $24.00 per student.

Entry limits

Lightweight events: 0 crews per school per event; Doubles: 1 crew per event per school; Singles, Pairs, Fours, and Quads: 2 crews per event per school; Eights and Octuples: no limit.

Number of events per student

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria

Schools are limited to 3 "new" students in an eight and 1 "new" student in other boats ("new" students are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is now also a limit of 2 students with an NZSSSC-issued PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).

2017 Stats

1808 students from 95 schools entered in 4934 seats in 1383 crews. 295 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 52 events.


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council.

Aon NZ