est. 1967

Ruataniwha Rowing Board

Peter Midgely (Chief Umpire)
Darryl Purton (Chief Judge)
Justin Wall (Chief Starter)
Lauren Farnden (NZSSRA)

Michele Hawke
Geoff Taggart

NISSC 2021

Aon NZ


2021 Meridian SISSC

  Printer Friendly Version January 2021  

2020 Aon Maadi Cup NoticesNewsletter - Sitemap -  

2021 Meridian South Island Secondary Schools Champs Logo Lake Ruataniwha, 5-7 March 2021
terms & conditions | programme of events | progression system | entries | results

  • Where: Lake Ruataniwha [map], Mackenzie Country, New Zealand.
  • When: Friday 5 (part day), Saturday 6, and Sunday 7 March 2021
  • What: South Island schools competing for supremacy in 50 events and preparing to challenge the North Islanders at Maadi.

Number of events per student

After its annual review of per-student entry level, and much discussion about the health and safety of rowers, the Schools Committee continues to make the following recommendation:

School age rowers should only be racing 2 events at a Championships regatta. A few rowers could be considered for 3 events; none should be doing more.

In reaching the recommendation advice was sought from physiologists, leading elite coaches and the NZ Secondary School Sports Council. The Schools Committee will continue to monitor the number of entries per student this season.

Entry limits

The entry limits are the same as last year: 2 crews per event per school; except for eights and octuples, which have no limit.

NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria students "new" to a school

The NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria were last revised with effect 2018. An article about the NZSSSC School Team Eligibility criteria is available to help members assess whether or not each of their students is considered new to their school. Schools are limited to 3 "new" students in an eight and 1 "new" student in other boats ("new" students are those who've swapped schools or come from overseas and looks back over the past 2 years). There is also a limit of 2 students with an NZSSSC-issued PCRE per crew (1 in singles!).

ENTRIESOpening February

NZSSRA's online regatta entry system will open for entries in February and entries will close a fortnight before the regatta. Member schools will be sent a notice and copy of the regatta Conditions when entries open.

Meanwhile the online regatta entry system is open for roster maintenance. Schools are strongly encouraged to log in for Roster Maintenance and tidy up their roster of students before starting entries, as doing this while making regatta entries considerably slows down the process.

Passwords for online regatta entry are held by Member Schools' Sports Coordinators (schools should contact the Manager regarding misplaced passwords.)

Non-financial members

Any non-financial members cannot enter NZSSRA Championships and should contact the Schools Committee urgently if they are hoping to enter NISSC.


Entry fees (exclusive of GST) for the regatta were set by members at the 2019 AGM: 1X $17, 2X/2- $20, 4X+/4+ $30, 8X+/8+ $44, amenity $24 per student.

News 2021-01-01


While South Island schools are competing on Lake Ruataniwha for recognition as the best the South Island has to offer their North Island counter-parts will do the same thing up at the 2021 Aon North Island Champs on Lake Karapiro. Keep a watch on both regattas for indicators of who may claim the top spot at Maadi!

2020 Stats

There were 1009 students from 49 schools entered in 2780 seats in 777 crews. 183 races were required to complete the regatta and find the winners of all 52 events (incl exhibition U17 2-).


This New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Association regatta is sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council.